Cafes and Heurigers

I sit in a small café just out of Modling eating apple strudel as I write this. A visit to Vienna is incomplete unless you visit one of these institutions. Ranging from the world-renowned, like Café Sacher or Demel, to the innocuous cafes in the midst of suburbia, they offer coffees, hot chocolates, delicious pastries and more importantly a good atmosphere.

Steinschaden, a heuriger in Nussdorf

Heurigers are another must. They are traditional taverns serving the most recent year’s wine. It requires a special license so not every restaurant or bar can label themselves as such. Depending on the size they may also offer some simple foods like schnitzel. Although I’ve heard of one or two in the centre of the city (I don’t know how authentic they are), most heurigers are located on the outskirts of Vienna with the 19th district of Nussdorf being popular (close to Vienna woods). I enjoyed the wine so much I even had seconds (wild I know). Spring is certainly the most popular time to visit and most places close for the holiday period (anywhere between December and January), however if you look hard enough (and I mean really, really hard…or just read on) there are some that remain open throughout the year.

I love the treats Vienna has to offer. It’s what makes my trip so pleasurable.

Vineyard in Vienna

Tips:

Sachertorte at Cafe Sacher

Café Sacher Is famous for Sacher torte, a kind of chocolate cake made from a secret recipe handed down over 180 years. It was number 5 on National Geographic Travel’s top 10 places for chocolate list. It is so good I went back for more the very next day. They have two areas, the café/restaurant area is more classy and there’s a compulsory coat check-in for 1 euro each, and tips are expected. But if you walk around the corner the retail area has bar stools and high tables where you can order your torte and drink without too much frills.

Café Demel serves the best hot chocolate I’ve ever had. Yes it’s even better than the one in Café Sacher. They make it with full milk with cream on top, it’s truly an indulgence. They also have a wide variety of goodies you can treat yourself to but be prepared to wait in queue.

Steinschaden was the heuriger I managed to find in Nussdorf, the only one that appears to be open one week out from Christmas. It’s a rather large heuriger but very authentic, we were the only tourists there! Gemütlichkeit, good (cheap) wine, hearty food and an excellent place to observe the locals in their natural habitat.

Leave a comment